The 2022-23 WA Cricket Awards were held on April 2 with Cameron Bancroft and Chloe Piparo taking top honours.

Bancroft and Piparo won the coveted Laurie Sawle and Zoë Goss Medals, respectively after outstanding personal performances throughout the 2022-23 season.

It is the second time Bancroft has taken out the highest honour for a WA men’s player, earning his maiden Laurie Sawle Medal in 2015-16.

The disciplined right-hander proved pivotal to WA defending their Marsh Sheffield Shield and Marsh One-Day Cup titles, flourishing atop the order in both formats.

WA captain Piparo, meanwhile, had never previously won the prestigious Zoë Goss Medal, which factors performances in the Women’s National Cricket League and Weber Women’s Big Bash League to anoint WA’s most influential female player that season.

During the WBBL, Piparo (102 games) overtook Heather Graham (100 games) to become Perth Scorchers’ most capped female player, reaching the 100-game milestone against Sydney Sixers at the CitiPower Centre in Melbourne.

Piparo was also crowned WA’s WNCL Player of the Year, with Bancroft taking home the Four-Day Player of the Year award.

Philippe earned One-Day Player of the Year honours, having already been recognised by Cricket Australia as the competition’s most valuable player.

Marizanne Kapp was recognised as Perth Scorchers’ most impactful WBBL player for her contributions with the bat and ball.

Ashton Turner claimed the Simon Katich Medal as Perth’s most influential male player, heralding his brilliant captaincy and season-defining exploits at the batting crease.

Lilly Mills earned Female Rising Star honours, finishing as the leading wicket-taker for both WA and Perth Scorchers.

Cooper Connolly’s heroics in the KFC Big Bash League Final earned him the Male Rising Star Award, snatching victory against Brisbane Heat with his memorable cameo of 25 not-out from 11 deliveries.

Batter Mathilda Carmichael (Legacy Award) and seamer Matt Kelly (Excalibur Award) were honoured for living by team values and making exceptionally positive contributions to squad culture.

Cameron Green was recognised by media as WA’s most influential player on the international stage, taking home the Gold Cup following noteworthy performances for Australia’s Test, ODI and T20I teams.

Icons Mitchell Johnson and Keith Carmody were formally inducted into the WA Cricket Gallery of Greats, acknowledged for their unique and noteworthy contributions to cricket in the State.

WA Cricket also paid tribute to iconic left-hander Shaun Marsh, who called time on a brilliant domestic career that spanned 22 seasons.

Marsh, who has won the Laurie Sawle Medal three times (2007-08, 2018-19 and 2019-20), finished as WA’s all-time leading run-scorer across formats, with 12,019 runs and 30 centuries. For Australia, the 39-year-old celebrated 13 centuries and scored 5,293 runs.


  • Laurie Sawle Medal – Cameron Bancroft
  • Zoë Goss Medal – Chloe Piparo
  • Gold Cup – Cameron Green
  • WA Domestic One-Day Player of The Year – Josh Philippe
  • WA Domestic Four-Day Player of the Year – Cameron Bancroft
  • WA WNCL Player of the Year – Chloe Piparo
  • Simon Katich Medal – Ashton Turner
  • Perth Scorchers WBBL Player of the Year – Sophie Devine
  • Male Rising Star – Cooper Connolly
  • Female Rising Star – Lilly Mills
  • Excalibur Award – Matt Kelly
  • Legacy Award – Mathilda Carmichael
  • Gallery of Greats Inductees – Mitchell Johnson, Keith Carmody