WA Men's Squad Finalised For 2024-25

WA Cricket’s record-breaking Men’s program will enter the 2024-25 domestic season armed with experience, depth, and a raft of exciting young players.

The State has made four additions to its 30-man roster, which features six players on Cricket Australia contracts, 20 players on the primary list, and four rookies.

Former NSW wicketkeeper-batter Baxter Holt continues his career in the west, swapping places with Blues-bound gloveman Josh Philippe.

Neat behind the stumps and inventive with the bat, the 24-year-old played 18 games (12 Sheffield Shield, six One-Day Cup) for his native State after ‘keeping for Australia during the 2018 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup.

Holt is one of two full-time wicketkeepers on WA’s list, alongside Australian limited overs incumbent Josh Inglis.

Victorian quick Brody Couch, 24, will also move across the Nullarbor to join a pace cartel brimming with experience and potential.

Couch amassed 31 wickets at 22.84 for Northcote across all First Grade Premier Cricket formats last season, showcasing the pace and aggression that saw him take 18 scalps in 15 KFC Big Bash League games for Melbourne Stars.

Previously contracted by Victoria, Couch played one Marsh Sheffield Shield match and six Marsh One-Day Cup games during a three-season stint at the CitiPower Centre between 2020-21 and 2022-23.

Meantime, allrounder Keaton Critchell has earned his first State deal at the age of 27 off the back of outstanding form for WA’s second XI.

The Midland-Guildford skipper struck consecutive centuries against Tasmania’s second XI in February before making his One-Day Cup debut against the Tigers in Hobart the following week.

A powerful ball-striker and reliable seam-bowling option, Critchell was also selected in several extended squads throughout the Sheffield Shield season.

Dynamic 18-year-old batter Corey Wasley – who played two Tests and five ODIs for the Australian Under-19 team – rounds out the list of new additions after two productive seasons with Rockingham-Mandurah’s First Grade Premier Cricket side.

He replaces Jayden Goodwin on the rookie list, with Goodwin promoted to the senior list following a breakout Sheffield Shield campaign.

Perth Scorchers trio Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff and Andrew Tye do not hold State contracts but will continue to be supported by WA Cricket’s High Performance program. Veteran allrounder Marcus Stoinis also comes off the contract list.  

WA will enter season 2024-25 with their sights set on becoming the first team in history to win four consecutive Shield and One-Day Cup championships, simultaneously.

Comments attributable to WA Cricket General Manager – High Performance Cricket & Elite Teams, Kade Harvey:

“We’re very happy with the balance of our list, and we believe we’re well placed to continue the incredible run of success we’ve enjoyed in recent years.

“Securing another wicketkeeper was a priority with Josh Philippe leaving for New South Wales. We think Baxter has lots of potential with the bat and gloves, so we’re excited to see how he goes when an opportunity presents.

“Brody generates good pace and bounce and loves the contest. We really like his raw attributes, which should be well suited to the conditions in WA.

“Keaton is a great story of persistence after performing well in Premier Cricket for a number of years, while Corey is an exciting young prospect with a bright future.

“Ashton, Jason and AJ will continue to be supported by our High Performance program as valued members of the WA Cricket setup.


Cricket Australia: Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson.

State: Cameron Bancroft, Hilton Cartwright, Cooper Connolly, Brody Couch (new), Keaton Critchell (new), Sam Fanning, Cameron Gannon, Jayden Goodwin, Liam Haskett, Baxter Holt (new), Bryce Jackson, Matthew Kelly, Hamish McKenzie, Joel Paris, Corey Rocchiccioli, D'Arcy Short, Charlie Stobo, Ashton Turner, Sam Whiteman, Teague Wyllie. 

Rookie: Mahli Beardman, Sam Greer, Josh Vernon, Corey Wasley (new).