WA confirm Shield and Second XI Squads

Western Australia have named a 13-player squad for their Marsh Sheffield Shield clash against New South Wales at the WACA Ground starting tomorrow, Saturday 3 February.

Swing bowler Matthew Kelly is in line to make his long-awaited return, having recovered from a calf injury which has kept him sidelined so far this summer.

Teague Wyllie, Josh Philippe, and Cameron Gannon have also been added to the squad, after missing selection in WA’s last Shield fixture against Queensland in November.

Cooper Connolly (quad strain) and Jhye Richardson (side strain) are both unavailable for selection, while star allrounder Cameron Green will feature in Australia’s Dettol ODI Series against West Indies, which began at the MCG earlier today.   

Wicketkeeper batter Joel Curtis, who made his Shield debut last time out against the Bulls, has been omitted.

WA, placed second on the Sheffield Shield ladder, trail ladder-leader Tasmania by one point after six matches.  

Catch all the action this season with a WACA Membership, available for purchase here.

WA Marsh Sheffield Shield Squad – Game 7

Sam Whiteman – captain
Cameron Bancroft
Hilton Cartwright
Sam Fanning
Cameron Gannon
Jayden Goodwin
Liam Haskett
Matthew Kelly
Joel Paris
Josh Philippe
Corey Rocchiccioli
Charlie Stobo
Teague Wyllie

IN: Cameron Gannon, Matthew Kelly, Josh Philippe, Teague Wyllie

OUT: Cooper Connolly (quad), Joel Curtis (omitted), Cameron Green (Australia ODI), Jhye Richardson (side strain)

Marsh Sheffield Shield – Game 7
Saturday 3 February – Tuesday 6 February. First ball 10:30AM, AWST.
WACA Ground, Perth
LIVE: Kayo, Cricket.com.au, 91.3 SportFM

Click here to view all WA’s fixtures for the 2023-24 domestic season

Meantime, WA has named a strong 12-player squad for their Toyota Second XI clash with Tasmania at TCA Ground in Hobart, starting Monday 5 February.

Experienced allrounder D’Arcy Short will lead the side, after top-scoring for WA (47 off 53 balls) in their Marsh One-Day Cup defeat to New South Wales at the WACA Ground yesterday.

Joel Curtis returns to the Second XI squad, while Lane Berry (Bayswater-Morley), Douwtjie Hoogenboezem (Fremantle), Kade Povey (Willetton) and Lachlan Poulter (Wanneroo) have been recognised for standout performances in WA Premier Cricket, by being selected for the first time.

WA will be hoping to return to the winners list against Tasmania, following a defeat to Queensland in their last Second XI fixture at Scotch College.

Results and Scorecards for the Toyota Second XI Competition can be accessed here

Toyota Second XI Squad – Game 4
D’Arcy Short – captain
Lane Berry
Keaton Critchell
Joel Curtis
Lachlan Hardy
Fraser Hay
Douwtjie Hoogenboezem
Ashley Jeffrey
Justin Kandiah
Kade Povey 
Lachlan Poulter
Matthew Spoors

Toyota Second XI – Game 4
Tasmania v WA
Monday 5 February- Thursday 8 February. First ball 7:30AM, AWST.
TCA Ground, Hobart
LIVE: Match Scorecard can be accessed here