Hardie's maiden callup came after he starred during the second half of the Sheffield Shield season, having spent the first half recovering from elbow surgery. 

The 23-year-old belted 238 runs at 119 and claimed 10 wickets at 14.10 in three matches. When asked to open the bowling, he relished the chance by generating considerable swing and movement off the seam. 

The crowning moment of Hardie's campaign was his match-saving 174 not-out during the Sheffield Shield Final, burying Victoria just as the visitors were threatening to clutch momentum. 

Additionally, the hard-hitting right-hander played important roles during WA's Marsh One-Day Cup title, and Perth Scorchers' KFC Big Bash League championship.

State teammates Josh Inglis, Josh Philippe and Jhye Richardson will join Hardie on the Australia A leg of the tour, which features two One-Day games and two First Class fixtures. 

It is likely Inglis and Richardson will only feature during the red ball games, given both - as well as WA trio Ashton Agar, Mitch Marsh and Marcus Stoinis - are part of Australia's T20 squad to face Sri Lanka.

Cameron Green, Agar, Inglis and Marsh were also selected for the ODI and Test sides, while Stoinis will take part in the ODIs as well. 

Australia T20 Squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner, Matthew Wade

7 June: First T20, Colombo

8 June: Second T20, Colombo

11 June: Third T20, Kandy

Australia ODI Squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

14 June: First ODI, Kandy

16 June: Second ODI, Kandy

19 June: Third ODI, Colombo

21 June: Fourth ODI, Colombo

24 June: Fifth ODI, Colombo

Australia Test Squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

29 June - 3 July: First Test, Galle

8 July - 12 July: Second Test, Galle

Australia A Squad: Sean Abbott, Scott Boland, Pete Handscomb, Aaron Hardie, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kuhnemann, Nic Maddinson, Todd Murphy, Josh Philippe, Matt Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, Mark Steketee

8 June: First One-Day game, Colombo

10 June: Second One-Day game, Colombo

14 June - 17 June: First Class tour match, Hambantota

21 June - 24 June: First Class tour match, Hambantota