The historic appointment also makes her the first Indigenous Australian woman to sit on any Australian Cricket Board.

Professor Hayward’s appointment demonstrates WA Cricket’s substantive and multifaceted commitment to the development of Aboriginal Cricket in Western Australia and its role as a social leader in the wider community.

Currently sitting as Co-Chair of the Western Australian Aboriginal Cricket Advisory Committee (WAACAC) alongside WA Cricket Chair the Hon. Tuck Waldron, Professor Hayward has played an integral role in guiding and strengthening WA Cricket’s engagement with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities over many years.

Professor Hayward has worked to influence policies and programs on a wide range of issues for over 35 years, reflecting the needs of minority groups at community, state, and national level.

With an extensive background in the areas of health, education, employment, training, housing, child protection and law and justice, Professor Hayward is highly regarded for her long-standing work for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities across Australia.

Professor Hayward sits on a number of Boards including the National Centre for Social Impact, Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia Limited, Fremantle Dockers, Library Board of WA, Australian Education Research Centre, WA Liquor Commission and the Corporate Board of WA Police.

In 2012, Professor Hayward was inducted into the Western Australian Women’s Hall of Fame and recognised as a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia. Two years later she was awarded one of Murdoch University’s Distinguished Alumni for her work in the areas of Equity and Social Justice.

Professor Hayward has won the 2008 National NAIDOC Aboriginal Person of the Year Award, the Premier of WA’s prestigious Multicultural Ambassador’s Award (2006) and is an inductee into the WA Department of Education’s Hall of Fame for Achievement in Aboriginal Education (2009).

WA Cricket Chair, the Hon. Tuck Waldron, welcomed Professor Hayward to the Board, recognising that her appointment is central to the future of WA Cricket.

“It is a significant milestone in WA Cricket’s history to have Colleen join the WACA Board. She has a very deep connection to Australia’s Indigenous community,” Waldron said.

“As Co-Chair of the WA Aboriginal Cricket Advisory Committee, Colleen has brought a current and well-practiced understanding of community concerns and the cultural importance of cricket to our Board over the years, and we’re looking forward to her contribution as a Board Director.

“Colleen’s leadership and cultural guidance will make an invaluable contribution to WA Cricket’s governance, which will see enhanced experiences for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities through cricket.”

The senior Noongar woman will fill a casual vacancy following the resignation of Mike Veletta and will run for election as a permanent Member-Elected Board Director at WA Cricket’s Annual General Meeting later in the year.

WACA Board Directors

The Hon. Terry (Tuck) Waldron - Chair and Member Elected Director
Eva Skira AM - Deputy Chair and Board Appointed Director
Tom Percy QC - Member Elected Director
Graeme Wood - Member Elected Director
Nicola Brandon - Member Elected Director
Prof. Colleen Hayward AM - Member Elected Director (casual)
Christian Bauer - Cricket Appointed Director
Avril Fahey - Cricket Appointed Director
David Bailey - Board Appointed Director
The Hon. Kerry Sanderson AC - Board Appointed Director