A standout performer with bat and ball, West polled 19 votes to take out the Karen Read Medal ahead of Nicole Bolton (12) and Megan Banting (12). 

West finished the A-grade One-Day campaign with 326 runs at 40.8, to go with 14 wickets at 15.3 from nine games. In A-grade T20 cricket, West tallied 194 runs at 32.3.

She also notched up six half-centuries across all formats, and took multiple wickets in an innings on five different occasions.

The allrounder credited her success to rediscovering a passion for cricket, which had waned in recent years.

“I’m overwhelmed, to be honest. I didn’t expect it and it’s a real honour to take on a medal named after Karen Read herself,” West said.

“I think last season I was learning to love cricket again. I think a couple of seasons ago I really lost the love for it. In order to do well, a key component is to love the game and love what you do.

“This year it really clicked for me. I didn’t have to try really hard, I just went out, did what I did, enjoyed the game and it’s come off.”

Meantime, Subiaco-Floreat quick Hamish McKenzie took home the Olly Cooley Medal with 16 votes, outpointing Clint Hinchliffe (14), Alex Bevilaqua (13) and Kaiden Cookson (13) during a thrilling count. 

McKenzie was level with Hinchliffe on 14 votes, before receiving the definitive two votes in the final round of the First Grade season after taking 2-25 and striking 45 against Melville.

Across all three formats, McKenzie took 65 wickets at 13.32 – earning the First Grade bowling average and aggregate awards – and struck 435 runs at 22.89.

Having shown flashes of his ability in previous seasons, the talented pace bowler went to another level after a frank conversation with Subiaco-Floreat coach and WA great Wayne Clark. 

“It’s all pretty overwhelming,” McKenzie said of winning the Olly Cooley Medal.  

“At the end of last season, I had a chat to the coach at Subi, Wayne Clark, who said ‘you’ve got to work hard on your bowling, there’s a lot more improvement to be had’.”

McKenzie reaped the benefits of a gruelling pre-season program, and hopes the same approach will yield dividends moving forward. 

“The future goal is just to continue my cricket, really,” McKenzie said.

“Over the past couple of years, I worked hard for probably the first time in my career and it seems to be paying off.”

McKenzie is the first Subiaco-Floreat player to win the Olly Cooley Medal since David Bandy shared the award with Willetton’s Matt Johnson in 2010-11.

West is South Perth’s second Karen Read Medal winner, after Nicola Shaw won the inaugural vote count in 2014-15.

2021-22 Female Team of the Year
1. Nicole Bolton (Subiaco-Floreat)
2. Rebecca West (South Perth)
3. Megan Banting (Subiaco-Floreat)
4. Sarah Fragomeni (Midland-Guildford)
5. Shenae Reichelt (Waneroo)
6. Amy Edgar (Melville) - Allrounder
7. Annelies Gevers (Midland-Guildford) - Wicketkeeper
8. Jessica Emery (Subiaco-Floreat) - Captain
9. Sarah Sribala-Sundaram (South Perth)
10. Kayla van Spall (Melville)
11. Chloe Wain (Melville)
12. Jaqueline Naidoo (Subiaco-Floreat)

2021-22 WADCC Team of the Year
1. Sam Fanning (Perth)
2. Jayden Goodwin (Subiaco-Floreat)
3. Fraser Hay (Melville) - Captain
4. Nick Maiolo (Scarborough)
5. Shayne Wornes (Willetton)
6. Darius D’Silva (Mount Lawley) – Allrounder
7. Abdrew Bottega (Mount Lawley) - Wicketkeeper
8. Hamish McKenzie (Subiaco-Floreat)
9. Daniel Turkich (Claremont-Nedlands)
10. Alex Bevilaqua (South Perth)
11. Justin Kandiah (Midland-Guildford)
12. Kyle Wiggers (Bayswater-Morley)

1st Grade Premiership: Subiaco-Floreat
1st Grade Batting Average:  Aaron Hardie (Willetton)
1st Grade Batting Aggregate:  Sam Fanning (Perth)
1st Grade Bowling Average: 
Hamish McKenzie (Subiaco-Floreat)
1st Grade Bowling Aggregate:  Hamish McKenzie (Subiaco-Floreat)
Female Club Championship:  Subiaco-Floreat
Male Club Championship:  Subiaco-Floreat

Female A Grade 50 Over Premiership:  Subiaco-Floreat
Female A Grade 50 Over Batting Aggregate:  Nicole Bolton (Subiaco-Floreat)
Female A Grade 50 Over Bowling Aggregate:  Jessica Emery (Subiaco-Floreat)
Female A Grade 50 Over Champion Player:  Nicole Bolton (Subiaco-Floreat)
One-Day League Premiership:  Subiaco-Floreat
Kevin Sullivan Silver Cup:  South Perth

Female B Grade 40 Over Premiership:  Wanneroo
Female B Grade 40 Over Batting Aggregate:  Shenae Reichelt (Wanneroo)
Female B Grade 40 Over Bowling Aggregate:  Sarah Fragomeni (Midland-Guildford)
Female B Grade 40 Over Champion Player:  Sarah Fragomeni (Midland-Guildford)

Female A Grade T20 Premiership:  Melville
Female A Grade T20 Batting Aggregate:  Rebecca McGrath (Melville)
Female A Grade T20 Bowling Aggregate:  Megan Banting (Subiaco-Floreat)
Female A Grade T20 Champion Player:  Rebecca McGrath (Melville)

Spirit of Cricket Award (Male):  Gosnells
Spirit of Cricket Award (Female):  Rockingham-Mandurah
Jenny Owens Medal:  Sarah Fragomeni (Midland-Guildford)
2nd Grade Premiership:  Bayswater-Morley
JP Robbins Medal:  Donavinn Fryer (Wanneroo)

Male Senior Coach of the Year:  Wayne Clark (Subiaco-Floreat)
Female Senior Coach of the Year:  Shenae Reichelt (Wanneroo)
Junior Competitions Umpire of the Year: Bryan Kennelly
Female Competitions Umpire of the Year:  Nathan Gilders
4th Grade Umpire of the Year:  Justin Cunningham
3rd Grade Umpire of the Year:  James Rodgers
2nd Grade Umpire of the Year:  Justin Shakeshaft
1st Grade Umpire of the Year:  Todd Rann
Peter McConnell Medal:  Dennis Smallwood

Colts Premiership:  Bayswater-Morley
Premier T20s Premiership:  Melville
4th Grade Premiership:  Willetton
Alan Mackley Medal: Mal Wilde (Bayswater-Morley)
3rd Grade Premiership:  Melville
Albert Richings Medal:  Drew Porter (Melville)
Allan Edwards Trophy:  Bryce Jackson (Melville)
Clare Papasergio Award: Chloe Ainsworth (Melville)
Club Administrator of the Year:  Greg Fitzgerald (Subiaco-Floreat)

Female B Grade T20 Premiership:  Melville
Female B Grade T20 Batting Aggregate:  Sarah Fragomeni (Midland-Guildford)
Female B Grade T20 Bowling Aggregate: Harriet Collins (Perth)
Female B Grade T20 Champion Player:  Harriet Collins (Perth)

Most Improved Pitch Award:  UWA Sports Park
Roy Abbott Best Pitch Award: Stevens Reserve West